# Minutes of the eighth WoTUG AGM held at the University of Kent, Canterbury, on Wednesday, 13th September 2000.

### 1. Apologies

Hugh Webber sent his apologies.

#### 2. Finances

The unaudited accounts for 1999-2000 were presented by Ruth Ivimey-Cook.

The WoTUG TM21 meeting eventually generated a profit of some £2300, which was very satisfactory. The WoTUG TM22 meeting made a small loss, which would not be passed on to WoTUG. This was due to the low number of delegates attending. The current CPA2000 meeting had distributed 10 student discounts, but should still make a small profit.

There were discussions about undertaking some public relations activities. Stephen Maudsley offered to write a marketing plan.

It was suggested that the student bursaries could be increased - say to 50% of the overall fee - but then their numbers might have to be restricted. It was noted that these conferences should aim to break even, in order to remain sustainable.

# 3. Elections of Committee Members

All of the members of the existing committee expressed their willingness to stand for re-election.

The following expressed an interest in joining the committee: Adrian Lawrence, Marcel Boosten, Dyke Stiles and Jan Broenink.

Jeremy Martin thus proposed that the existing committee should be re-elected, and that the co-opted members should be augmented by the new volunteers. Jim Moores seconded this motion. It was unanimously carried.

The full committee therefore comprises:

Peter Welch (University of Kent) (Chairman) Roger Peel (University of Surrey) (Secretary) Ruth Ivimey-Cook (ARM Ltd.) (Treasurer)

Alastair Allen (University of Aberdeen)
Andre Bakkers (University of Twente, Netherlands)
Richard Beton (Roke Manor Research Ltd.)
Alan Chalmers (Bristol University)
Barry Cook (Keele University)
Jon Kerridge (Napier University)
Brian O'Neill (Nottingham Trent University)
Michael Poole (Independent Consultant)
Oyvind Teig (Autronica, Norway)
Paul Walker (4-Links)

The following members are co-opted to the committee:

Marcel Boosten (Philips, Netherlands)

Jan Broenink ((University of Twente, Netherlands)

Janet Edwards (Loughborough University)

Christopher Jones (British Aerospace, plc)

Adrian Lawrence (Oxford University)

Neil Miller (W.A. Consultants)

Stephen Maudsley (ESGEM Ltd.)

Paddy Nixon (Dublin University)

Dyke Stiles (Utah State University, USA)

Stephen Turner (University of Exeter)

Hugh Webber (DRA, Malvern)

In addition, it was proposed by Roger Peel, and seconded by Rick Beton, and agreed unanimously, that Johan Sunter (Philips TASS) should continue to act as one of the Group's auditors, and that David Morse (Open University) should be replaced by Gerald Hilderink (University of Twente, Netherlands).

### 4. Future Meetings

It was announced that the next major meeting of WoTUG would be at the University of Bristol in September 2001.

The forthcoming PDPTA meeting in Las Vegas in June 2001 was also trailed.

## 5. Any Other Business

There was some discussion on the format of the current CPA2000 meeting. Some delegates expressed their concern that it was a little too long. By reducing the paper presentations from 45 minutes to 30 minutes, the meeting could have been compressed to two days. There was no strong opinion on whether this would be a good strategy.

Roger M.A. Peel 25th September 2000