# Minutes of the ninth WoTUG AGM held at the University of Bristol, on Wednesday, 19th September 2001.

## 1. Finances

The unaudited accounts for 2000-2001 were presented by Ruth Ivimey-Cook.

Progress was in hand to register Ruth with the Nationwide Building Society so that the latest statements could be made available.

## 2. Membership

There was some discussion of merging the Java-threads and occam-com electronic mailing lists, but opinion was divided over the benefits.

Previous difficulties in setting up a 'wotug.org' domain from within the academic environment had proved insuperable, so Ruth Ivimey-Cook was working on doing this through an external service provider.

Ian Philips asked whether WoTUG should change its name - CPA was more compelling to some. Further discussions on this matter took place informally after the meeting.

### 3. Elections of Committee Members

All of the members of the existing committee expressed their willingness to stand for re-election, with the exception of Neil Miller who had not been active during the previous year.

Jim Moores thus proposed that the existing committee should be re-elected, and that the co-opted members should be augmented by James Pascoe, who would be running the CPA2002 meeting. Majid Mirmehdi seconded the motion, which was carried unanimously.

The full committee therefore comprises:

Peter Welch (University of Kent) (Chairman) Roger Peel (University of Surrey) (Secretary) Ruth Ivimey-Cook (ARM Ltd.) (Treasurer)

Alastair Allen (University of Aberdeen) Andre Bakkers (University of Twente, Netherlands)

Richard Beton (Roke Manor Research Ltd.)

Alan Chalmers (Bristol University)

Barry Cook (4-Links Ltd)

Jon Kerridge (Napier University)

Brian O'Neill (Nottingham Trent University)

Michael Poole (Independent Consultant)

Oyvind Teig (Kongsberg Maritime, Norway)

Paul Walker (4-Links Ltd)

The following members are co-opted to the committee:

Marcel Boosten (Philips, Netherlands)

Jan Broenink ((University of Twente, Netherlands)

Janet Edwards (Loughborough University)

Christopher Jones (British Aerospace, plc)

Adrian Lawrence (Oxford University)

Stephen Maudsley (ESGEM Ltd.)

Paddy Nixon (Glasgow University)

James Pascoe (University of Reading)

Dyke Stiles (Utah State University, USA)

Stephen Turner (University of Exeter)

Hugh Webber (DRA, Malvern)

In addition, it was proposed by Peter Welch, and seconded by Alan Chalmers, and agreed unanimously, that Johan Sunter (Philips TASS) and Gerald Hilderink (University of Twente, Netherlands) should continue to act as the Group's auditors.

#### 4. Future Meetings

It was announced that the next major meeting of WoTUG - its 25th - would be held at the University of Reading in September 2002.

Dyke Stiles reported that, following a successful Java in Education session at the PDPTA conference in Las Vegas in June 2001, a similar CPA session would be proposed for PDPTA in June 2002.

Ruth Ivimey-Cook suggested that there should be more emphasis on embedded systems, and everyone agreed that more attempts should be made to present papers in journals and magazines.

Jan Broenink reported that there would be an embedded systems conference in Eindhoven on October 18th, at which Bill Roscoe would be speaking.

# 5. Any Other Business

Prizes were awarded:

- to Paul Walker and Barry Cook for their Fringe presentation on Spacewire;
- to Fred Barnes for the best student paper;
- to Adrian Lawrence for the best paper overall.

There was some informal debate, and a number of straw polls after the end of the meeting, on whether WoTUG should change its name. These were taken without any notice or time for a considered assessment of the issues.

- about 3/4 of the delegates were keen to change the name to 'CPA';
- about 1/2 of the delegates thought that serious consideration should be made of this change;
- about 2/3 [of these?] wanted it to happen within the next year.

Roger M.A. Peel 14th September 2002