Minutes of the ninth WoTUG AGM held at the University of Reading, on Wednesday, 18th September 2002.

1. Apologies

Roger Peel sent his apologies.

2. Finances

Ruth is now registered as Treasurer with the Nationwide Building Society and the statement book is now complete.

The unaudited accounts for 2001-2002 were presented by Ruth Ivimey-Cook. A final balance of £1,127 had been received from CPA2000 at Kent, but no balance had been received from the CPA2001 at Bristol, although it was thought there would be a small surplus. The balance stands at £13,409.

3. Membership

There was some discussion of merging the Java-threads and occam-com electronic mailing lists, but opinion was divided over the benefits.

Ruth announced the existence of the www.wotug.org website and encouraged people to visit it.

4. Elections of Committee Members

All of the members of the existing committee expressed their willingness to stand for re-election, with the exception of Andre Bakkers and Michael Poole who have now retired. The committee proposed that Dyke Stiles and Jan Broenink be made full members of the committee.

The election of the resulting committee took place unopposed and so the full committee comprises:

Peter Welch (University of Kent) (Chairman) Roger Peel (University of Surrey) (Secretary) Ruth Ivimey-Cook (ARM Ltd.) (Treasurer)

Adrian Lawrence (Oxford University) Alan Chalmers (Bristol University) Alastair Allen (University of Aberdeen) Barry Cook (4-Links Ltd) Brian O'Neill (Nottingham Trent University) Dyke Stiles (Utah State University, USA) Jan Broenink ((University of Twente, Netherlands) Jon Kerridge (Napier University) Øyvind Teig (Kongsberg Maritime, Norway) Paul Walker (4-Links Ltd) Richard Beton (Roke Manor Research Ltd.)

The following members are on the co-opted committee list:

Marcel Boosten (Philips, Netherlands) Christopher Jones (British Aerospace, plc) Stephen Maudsley (ESGEM Ltd.) Paddy Nixon (Glasgow University) James Pascoe (University of Reading)

The following members are dropped from the committee list of last year:

Janet Edwards (Loughborough University) Hugh Webber (QuinetiQ) Stephen J. Turner (was Uni Exeter, now in far east) Andre Bakkers (retired) Michael Poole (retired)

In addition, it was proposed, seconded, and agreed unanimously, that Johan Sunter (Philips TASS) and Gerald Hilderink (University of Twente, Netherlands) should continue to act as the Group's auditors.

5. The Constitution

Ruth Ivimey-Cook noted that the current constitution does not reflect the way the group currently does business, and in addition had several flaws. After some inconclusive discussion the meeting decided that:

a) the committee had the power to amend the constitution as required to resolve membership issues, a new Officer and a rewording to use CPA rather than concurrency.

b) the limit on the number of co-opted members of the committee was removed, proposed by Peter Welch, seconded by Jim Moores.

The committee will therefore bring the revised constitution to the next AGM.

6. Future Meetings

It was announced that the next major meeting of WoTUG - its 26th - would be held courtesy of Jan Broenink at the University of Twente in September 2003.

7. Any Other Business

Prizes were awarded:

- to Quickstone team for the best fringe presentation;
- to Gerald Hilderink for the best student paper;
- to Johan Sunter for the best joke;
- to Brian Vinter and Peter Welch for the best paper overall.

Charmaine, the conference secretary, was presented with flowers.

Ruth Ivimey-Cook and Johan Sunter, pp Roger M.A. Peel 17th June 2003